

NATIONAL COMMISSION ON FORENSIC SCIENCE



May 12-13, 2014 – 810 7th Street, NW, Washington, DC

AGENDA – MAY 12, 2014

1:00 p.m.	Call to Order
1:00 p.m. – 1:45 p.m.	Welcoming Remarks and Meeting Objectives
1:45 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.	Human Factors and Cognitive Bias in Forensic Science
	Deborah Boehm-Davis, Dean, College of Humanities and Social
	Sciences and University Professor, Department of Psychology, George Mason University
	John Collins, President, Forensic Foundations Group
	Michael Risinger, John J. Gibbons Professor of Law, Seton Hall University School of Law
	David H. Kaye, Distinguished Professor of Law and Weiss Family Faculty Scholar, Penn State University, Dickinson School of Law
3:00 p.m. – 3:15 p.m.	BREAK
3:15 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.	Ethics and Forensic Science
	J.C. Upshaw Downs, M.D., Coastal Regional Medical Examiner, Georgia Bureau of Investigation
	Rob Lesnevich, Director, Forensic Science Laboratory, US Treasury
	Inspector General for Tax Administration
4:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Public Comment Period
	Facilitated by Brette Steele, Designated Federal Official
5:00 p.m.	Adjournment

AGENDA – May 13, 2014

9:00 a.m. Call to Order

SUBCOMMITTEE REPORTS AND DISCUSSION

```
9:00 a.m. – 9:40 a.m. Accreditation and Proficiency Testing
Linda Jackson and Patricia Manzolillo, Co-Chairs
```

9:40 a.m. – 10:20 a.m.	Reporting and Testimony Judge Jed Rakoff and Matt Redle, Co-Chairs
10:20 a.m. – 10:40 a.m.	BREAK
10:40 a.m. – 11:20 a.m.	Medico-Legal Death Investigation Vincent DiMaio and John Fudenberg, Co-Chairs
11:20 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.	Training on Science and Law Judge Barbara Hervey and Jim Gates, Co-Chairs
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.	LUNCH BREAK
1:00 p.m. – 1:40 p.m.	Scientific Inquiry and Research Suzanne Bell and Jeff Salyards, Co- Chairs
1:40 p.m. – 2:20 p.m.	Interim Solutions Dean Gialamas and Peter Neufeld, Co-Chairs
2:20 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.	BREAK
2:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.	Co-Chair Remarks and Next Steps James M. Cole, DOJ Co-Chair Patrick Gallagher, NIST Co-Chair
3:30 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.	Update on the Organization of Scientific Area Committees Mark Stolorow, Director of OSAC Affairs, Office of Special Programs, National Institute of Standards and Technology
4:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Public Comment Period Facilitated by Brette Steele, Designated Federal Official
5:00 p.m.	Adjournment