

## NATIONAL COMMISSION ON FORENSIC SCIENCE



## February 3-4, 2014 – 810 7<sup>th</sup> Street, NW, Washington, DC

## AGENDA – FEBRUARY 3, 2014

9:00 a.m.	Call to Order
9:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.	Commission Introductions
	Nelson Santos, DOJ Vice-Chair
	John Butler, NIST Vice- Chair
10:15 a.m. – 10:45 a.m.	Federal Advisory Committee Act and the Special Government Employee
	Brette Steele, Designated Federal Official
	Kathleen Silbaugh, Office of Government Ethics
10:45 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.	MORNING BREAK
11:00 a.m. – 11:40 p.m.	Welcoming Remarks
	James M. Cole, DOJ Co-Chair
	Patrick Gallagher, NIST Co-Chair
	John Holdren, Assistant to the President for Science and
	Technology and Director, Office of Science and Technology
	Policy, Executive Office of the President
11:40 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.	LUNCH BREAK
1:00 p.m. – 1:20 p.m.	Reflections on the Findings of the NRC Committee on Identifying the Needs of the Forensic Science Community The Honorable Harry T. Edwards, U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia
1:20 p.m. – 1:40 p.m.	Census of Publicly Funded Crime Laboratories
• •	Matt DuRose, Statistician, Bureau of Justice Statistics
1:40 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.	Accreditation of Forensic Science Service Providers Patricia Manzolillo, Director, USPS Laboratory
2:00 p.m. – 2:20 p.m.	Forensic Science Proficiency Testing Dean Gialamas, Director, Los Angeles County Sheriff's Office Crime Laboratory

2:20 p.m. – 2:40 p.m.	AFTERNOON BREAK
2:40 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.	Certification of Forensic Science Service Providers Patricia Manzolillo, Director, USPS Laboratory
3:00 p.m. – 3:20 p.m.	Forensic Science Research & Development Michael "Jeff" Salyards, Executive Director, Defense Forensic Science Center
3:20 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.	Wrap-Up
4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.	Public Comment Period Facilitated by Brette Steele, Designated Federal Official
5:00 p.m.	Adjournment

## AGENDA – FEBRUARY 4, 2014

9:00 a.m.	Call to Order
9:00 a.m. – 9:20 a.m.	Standards in Forensic Science Gerald LaPorte, Acting Director, Office of Investigative and Forensic Science, National Institute of Justice
9:20 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Organization of Scientific Area Committees Mark Stolorow, Director, Office of Law Enforcement Standards, National Institute of Standards and Technology
10:00 a.m. – 10:15 a.m.	BREAK
10:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.	Prioritization of NCFS Agenda Round-table discussion facilitated by Nelson Santos, DOJ Vice- Chair and John Butler, NIST Vice-Chair
12:15 p.m. – 12:30 p.m.	Summation and Wrap-Up
12:30 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.	Public Comment Period Facilitated by Brette Steele, Designated Federal Official
1:30 p.m.	Meeting Adjourned